NATIONAL CONSTITUTION CONFERENCE (NCC) The National Constitutional Conference (NCC) was established in 2007 under the National Constitutional Conference (NCC) Act No. 19 of 2007 and started its work on 19th December, 2007. According to the Act the NCC is a forum for the examination, debate and adoption of proposals to amend the Constitution as contained in the Draft Constitution submitted by Mung?omba Constitutional Review Commission (CRC). The NCC Act was enactment following the recommendations of the people of Zambia that the Constitution should be adopted by a Constituent Assembly, a Constitutional Conference or any other popular body that would represent the views of the people. The NCC a wide representation from all sectors of the Zambian society with members from different background and occupations including bankers and traditional leaders to politicians and lawyers. Members were appointed by the Secretary to the Cabinet to represent various sectors of the Zambian community. The total NCC membership is four hundred and ninety-five (495) people from various stakeholder organizations. Forty (40) members have not taken up their seats at the NCC, however, they are free to join at any time. The NCC Act gives the Conference 12 months from the time it came into effect to complete its work of adopting a new constitution. However this period does not include the period when the National Assembly is sitting. Members may request the president to extend this period if they consider the period provided to be inadequate. The final draft will be published for a period of sixty days in both English and seven local languages namely: Lozi, Tonga, Bemba, Nyanja, Luvale, Lunda and Kaonde in order to get comments from the public. After the sixty days, the Conference will produce the final Draft Constitution and the Report incorporating the views of the people. The NCC elected its Executive members headed by the NCC Chairperson, Hon. Chifumu K. Banda SC, MP. Four other members of the Executive elected are: 1) Hon. Faustina B. Sinyangwe, MP ? Vice-Chairperson. 2) Hon. Regina Musokotwane, MP- Vice-chairperson. 3) Mr. Leonard Hikaumba ? Vice-chairperson. 4) Mrs. Mwagala Zaloumis ? Spokesperson The NCC operates through separate committees, each performing a necessary function of addressing specific issues in the constitution, using expertise from members to provide a comprehensive review for the constitution. The committees are: 1) General Constitutional Principles Committee. 2) Citizenship Committee. 3) Human Rights Committee. 4) Democratic Governance Committee. 5) Executive Committee. 5) Legislative Committee 6) Judicial Committee. 7) Local Government Committee. 8) Public Service Committee. 9) Public Finance Committee. 10) Land and Environment Committee. 11) General Purposes Committee 12) Disciplinary Committee. 13) Drafting Committee All Zambians are invited to take interest in the work of the NCC in order to be part of the constitution making process of the country. You can follow the proceedings of the NCC and make your comments on

Category: News