Zambia is located in South Central Africa, covering an area of approximately 752,614 square kilometers. The country shares borders with Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe.

Zambia has a population of 11.1 million (2004) of which 45 percent reside in urban areas, making Zambia one of the most highly urbanized in Africa. The main urban cities are Lusaka in the midlands, Ndola and Kitwe in the Copperbelt area and Livingstone in the south which hosts the Victoria Falls.

zambia_mapThe country’s geographical location and high altitude are ideal for the country’s sub-tropical vegetation and climate conditions. There are three distinguished seasons: a warm wet season (Nov-April), a cool dry season, (May-August), and a hot dry season (September-October).

Temperatures range from 15-33 degrees Celsius or 59-91 degrees Farenheight. The average annual rainfall in a normal season is 1000mm with the northern parts of the country experiencing the highest rainfall averaging more than 1400 mm annually.

Facts about Zambia (Summary)

Location: Southern Africa – Landlocked with eight neighbors (Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi, Tanzania and Democratic Republic of Congo)

Area total: 752,614 sq km
Land: 740,724 sq km
Water: 11,890 sq km
Population:  13,092,666 (2010 est.); GDP per capita = K6,960,594 (equivalent to US $1,500.00)
Nationality:   Zambian
Languages: English is the official language and is widely spoken. There are 73 local languages in Zambia, the major ones being Bemba, Chewa, Lozi, Lunda, Luvale, Nyanja and Tonga.
Major Religions: Christianity, Islam, Hindu and Local Beliefs
Capital City: Lusaka
Climate:  Tropical
Terrain: Mostly high plateau with few hills and mountains
Natural Resources: Copper, cobalt, gold, nickel, diamonds, coal, emeralds, uranium, water.
Land Use: Arable land: 60 million hectares. Only 15% of arable land is cultivated.
Major Tourist Attractions:  Victoria Falls (one of the 7 natural wonders of the world); Kariba Dam  (one of the largest man-made lake); Kalambo Falls (one of the deepest falls in the world); 19 National Parks and 34 game management areas as well as 23 million hectares devoted to the conservation of an amazing variety of wild animals and bird species. The country also holds a number of traditional ceremonies including the Kuomboka, Ncwala, Likumbi Lyamize, Mutomboko and Lwiindi.
Time:   +2 hours of GMT
International Dialing code: +260
Internet Domain: .zm
Measurements:  Metric system
Currency:  Zambian Kwacha (ZMW) = 100 Ngwee.
Exchange Rate: The exchange rate is market determined.
GDP growth rate: 6.8% (2013)
Traditional Exports:  Primary agricultural products, Floriculture/Horticultural products, Gemstones, Timber, Electricity, Cement, and Textiles.
Major Imports: Crude oil, Chemicals, Medicines, Machinery, Iron Steel and Manufactured goods
Major Economic Activities: Agriculture, Construction, Energy, Manufacturing, Mining, and Tourism

Zambia is a member of many international organizations including the United Nations and its agencies. Others are:

*African Union
*African Development Bank
*Southern Africa Development Community
*Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
*The Commonwealth
*World Trade Organization (WTO)
*The World Bank
*The International Monetary Fund (IMF)
*Multilateral Investment Guaranty Agency (MIGA)